RSS

10,000 hours

21 Jan
10,000 hours

My mom is reading this book called Bounce by Matthew Syed (who’s this amacrible(amazing/incredible) olympian table tennis player and other stuff but just go with me on this)  and it’s pretty amazing. I think my mom and I make a great reading team. We could be world famous and travel the world in an attempt to become the world’s most well-read mom and daughter. Ever. She’d read the non-fiction and I’d read the fiction and maybe every spring break or so we’d switch genres for a week.

Anyways, the whole reason I’m here is because mom read in her non-fiction book that it’s scientifically proven that it takes about ten years (about a thousand hours a year) of practice to become a professional at something. We all know that practice makes perfect but, no really. And it’s been found that it is ONLY the practice that makes people good. They weren’t born with innate talent. They aren’t unusually blessed. They practiced. Child prodigies? Practice. Yeah, sure their parents probably beat them and made them go without food if they didn’t keep they’re squishy little hand on those piano keys. Sure they’re probably a little emotionally…in need of healing. But what I want you to get out of this, is that in ten years, you could be anything you want to be. Anything. Now I don’t know what it is that calls to your heart, that maybe, you’ve never pursued because you don’t think your any good, but I do know, that if you practice and you learn with a humble and teachable heart, you will succeed.

Keep me accountable guys–this is my list of things I’m going to do/become:

  • a successful published author
  • a pianist and song writer
  • how to dance (now this is a huge one for me because right now I suck and I’ve been telling myself I suck for about three years)

I’m taking a accelerated shot at this writing thing over the next twenty or so days (: (That’s when I turn EIGHTEEN!!!!) And of course I’m gonna keep writing until I’m a pro. Leggo!…Okay I give up being hip or ghetto or whatever: Lets GO!

P.S. I just finished a fiction book called Paper Towns by John Green and it was pretty good. I read it in a single yesterday.

 

Leave a Reply

 
